Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,


These are the instruments we use for Kirtan. Even though we only got few, but they are already enough to create a beautiful sound. Sounds are everywhere, they are always part of our existence since the ancestral period. Sounds then converted to an electrical signal which travels to the brain via the nerves on our ears. Different sound has different impact to each and everyone. It may influence our emotions in a certain way, depending on the type of sound we are listening.

Chants are sounds thus they ranges from simple melodies to a more complicated ones. They are usually repetitive yet pleasant to the sense of hearing. I, myself gets delighted hearing mantras and chants. They may sound like a prayer, but they had a way of making me feel good. After all, chants were originally made for spiritual practices just like in Buddhist chants, Native American cultures, Vedic chants, Roman Catholic psalms and prayers.

However, as I have mentioned above, various sounds has distinct impact on us. Say for instance love songs, when you listen to your favorite piece, it has a certain way of making you feel mushy. On the other hand, rock music which consist of unique yet extremely loud rhythm makes you feel like banging your head or smashing any objects near you. Haha

Sankirtan is beyond any doubt my personal favorite. It gives me not just goosebumps (a positive one) but uplifting effects as well. To be honest, my first Kirtan participation was not that agreeable, but as the time goes by, I started to fall in love with it. I have great respect to those people who introduced me to this sort of mantra. By the way, we call those people who perform these mantras as Kirtankar. My very first try of using Kirtan instrument was quite awkward, hence I did not have any idea what to do. 😀 Of course, there is always a first toe-curling moment.

I would like to share this beautiful mantra called Baba Nam Kevalam. This phrase means “my most beloved One” or “Everything is an expression of one infinite, loving Consciousness”. Baba=he affectionate way to address the Parama Purusha (God, Cosmic Consciousness), Nam= name, Kevalam=all that exists, all there is.

